Flower of the Field

“This is the day the Lord has made;
Let us rejoice in it and be glad.”  – Psalm 118: 24

IMG_8933


O blooming flower of the field,
what joy there is in thee!
Without a single word or sound
thou speakest much to me.

Within thy gentle colors lies
a great and glorious song,
that rings throughout the countryside,
and woodland miles long.

What is the secret of this joy,
so full of hope and light,
that calls to all who look upon
thy petals blue and white?

O flower dost thou never weep?
I never see thee sad,
though many pass and hear it not,
thy song is always glad!

Thy hardiness and quiet strength
enchant me like a spell,
and how thy undiminished joy
brings joy to me as well!

Pray tell me how I can become
a flower like to thee,
and sing my song with joyfulness
to every rock and tree.


© Samuel Birrer and Serendipity, 2014.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

